Harper Lee – To Kill a Mockingbird

To-Kill-a-Mocking-Bird-Harper-LeeTo Whomever It May Concern,

This book is amazing. There I said it. It may surprise whoever reads this that this blogger did not read this book before now. I understand your expected and assumed surprise. For one reason or another, this book escape my scope of my assigned reading in College, and as it was assigned to me in High School, like every other good American High School English student, I used spark notes when I could and when I couldn’t I just listened to the class discussion of it and made it up as I went along. To all my teachers, I apologize for not having read this when it was assigned. If it is any consolation, I love it. There isn’t much that I can say about this book that hasn’t already been said. I think one of the ‘novel’, some pun intended, part of this pulitzer project Drew and I have embarked upon is that for whoever reads this blog, you will get a review and a reaction to many books a lot of people have not read. One of which, Angle of Repose, and I would like to take this time to apologize to Mr. Stegner, I am sorry I trashed your book, reading back on my post, I felt it harsh and unforgiving. It was my true reaction at the time, but please forgive a careful reader his own modest opinions. You were awarded a prize by a panel of jurors. A humble student of literature is no object of great prestige or import that you must fear his ire.

A slight caveat, for any of you who have avoided reading this mammoth work of the American Classical Canon, read it now. It is a treasure. I knew the story going in, and let me take the time now to say that what level of gravitas a book, I mean a single work of fiction by an author who only wrote one novel, was awarded one prize in her life, that I would know the story of her novel inside and out to be oft-quoted in movies and television shows, the cultural consciousness about this story amazes me. I mention several times throughout this blog to be an aspiring writer, to achieve her level of awareness to the public is amazing. On the level with Moby Dick, The Scarlet Letter, and A Christmas Carol. Harper Lee succeeded in making a very humble book about the Deep South torn in the racial debate is astounding. As many people do, I place this work right next to Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby as possibly one of the only book’s given the title ‘A Perfect Novel’. I can literally, under no circumstance, find fault with any one bit of this novel. It was perfect. Congratulations Ms. Lee, you have achieve a rare feat in this project. I have nothing negative to say about your book. You Win! Anyways, read this novel, cherish it, and read it to your children. It is magical.

yours,
blogger…

Leave a Reply

