Michael Cunningham – The Hours

9780312305062_custom-db589d0722dc76438baed5bbc88f13ea46ea65d0-s6-c30Wow, I feel like I blinked at this book was over with. I thoroughly enjoyed the time that I was reading. After finishing McMurtry not too very long ago, I sort of have the sense that if I don’t hate every waking moment of my life for having to read a very long and very mediocre book then I must not be awake. Reading Cunningham was very refreshing, although a painful and hard-bitten book filled with what seems to be very petty people, Cunningham writes his like masterpiece with such confidence, at times to a slight fault.

I couldn’t help be feel the entire time reading it how great of a writer Cunningham might think himself to be with his painfully exact little idiosyncrasies and maybe a little too over the top coincidences peppered throughout the novel. If there were one removed I might have found them charming, but overall I thought they were distracting. I think we really come to understand that these characters are living parallel lives, and they all coincide in the final chapter, and trust me I like that approach. I really do, and I thought it lovely, and the wool was completely covering my eyes as to the final chapter, and I sort of felt foolish for not picking up on it earlier, but I loved it either way. I really enjoyed this book, and as of yet, I don’t know if I would definitely recommend a single pulitzer to my wife, who is not as ‘accomplished’ a reader as I am, but this one is going on her to read list. Cunningham for all the trashing I did earlier in this post, trust me with his acclaim he can stand it from a little piddly book-reviewer such as myself, he writes with clear, and I mean, crystal clarity into the heart of humanity. His subject matter was at times painfully alien from me and reader of readers so to speak, but this culture was pretty foreign to me, but it is still an accurate representation of the human condition far and away pristine in his retelling of real events. Cunningham is a master observer of life and love and heartbreak and a fine reteller of such events. I want to read more by him just to see him look into our soul’s unselfishly and tell us our own stories. Cunningham is brilliant, a little overconfident at times, but he is brilliant.

Leave a Reply

